The Martin Luther King, Jr. Living Memorial project is being led by a Planning Committee comprised of an ever-growing and diverse cross-section of civic leaders, organizers, philanthropists, businesses and others from across the Chicagoland area. Members include:

Asiyah Ali
Student, Lindblom Math & Science Academy
Jennifer Arwade
Co-Executive Director, Communities United
Kamran Bajwa
Partner, Kirkland & Ellis, LLP
Jeff Bartow
Executive Director, Southwest Organizing Project
Alia J. Bilal
Director of Community Relations, Inner-City Muslim Action Network
Asiaha Butler
Executive, Director Residents Association of Greater Englewood
Jim Capraro
Principal, Capraro Consulting
Jacqueline Collins
Illinois State Senator, 16th Senate District
Peggy A. Davis
Chief Officer of Programs and Strategic Integration, The Chicago Community Trust
Curtiss Paul DeYoung
Executive Director, Community Renewal Society
Clyde K. El-Amin
Executive Committee Board Member, Co-Chair Inner-City Muslim Action Network (IMAN)
Andrew Fortman
Director of Community and Cultural Programs, Center on Halsted
Tabassum Haleem
Executive Director, Council of Islamic Organizations of Greater Chicago
Markus Harris
Youth Leader, Inner-City Muslim Action Network
Vance Henry
Senior Outreach Director, City of Chicago’s Office of the Mayor
Alice Hunt
President, Chicago Theological Seminary
Kareem Irfan
Chief Executive Officer (Global Businesses), Cranes Software International
Perri Irmer
President and CEO, The DuSable Museum of African American History
Phil Jackson
Associate Pastor, Lawndale Community Church
Judy Levey
Executive Director, Jewish Council on Urban Affairs
Andrea C. London
Senior Rabbi, Beth Emet
Katie Marciniak
Student, Gage Park High School
Melody Morgan
Executive Minister, Trinity United Church of Christ
Otis Moss, III
Senior Pastor, Trinity United Church of Christ
Cory Muldoon
Associate Director, Public Allies Chicago
Rami Nashashibi
Executive Director, Inner-City Muslim Action Network
Mona Noriega
Commissioner, Chicago Commission on Human Relations
Eboo Patel
Founder and President, Interfaith Youth Core
Michael L. Pfleger
Senior Pastor, Saint Sabina
Jon Pounds
Executive Director Emeritus, Chicago Public Art Group
Juan Salgado
President and CEO, Instituto del Progreso Latino
Ron Taylor
Executive Director, United Congress of Community and Religious Organizations
Susana Vasquez
Vice President of Strategic Initiatives and Resource Development, Illinois Facility Fund
Janette C. Wilson
Senior Advisor and Pastor, Rainbow Push Coalition